What exactly are the NCAC 1 and NCAC 2 Exam?

When you have decided to choose a career in becoming a substance abuse counselor who is people who help their clients in guiding how to help them leave these addictions.

And this career has increased due to so many people getting addicted to different drugs.

For a substance addiction counselors will have to pass some exams like The National Certified Addiction, level 1 and level 2 examination which is taken to verify their skills and also work experience of professionals who are working in substance use disorders/addiction-related issues.

These exams provide you in helping upgrade to the highest ethical standards to become experts.

What is the requirement to appear in this exam?

There are various eligibility criteria to appear in NCAC I exam which include:

  • A bachelor or master’s degree in any of the subjects related to psychology, addiction studies, behavioral field.
  • Substance use disorders, addictions Counselor credential or professional Counselor licensure.
  • You should have a minimum experience of 5 years for about 5,000 hours as a substance use disorder/addiction counselor.
  • Minimum 6 hours of ethics training and six hours of HIV / other pathogens training. And also, internship under-qualified practitioner.
  • And lastly getting the required passing marks of NCC AP’s NCAC level 1 exam.

The second examination is NCAC II and its requirements include:

  • A Bachelor’s and a Postgraduate degree in substance use disorders/ addiction subjects.
  • Licensure in Substance Use Disorder/ Addiction Counselor or a Professional Practitioner Counselor license.
  • Maximum work experience of five years or about 1000 hours of work done as a Substance Use Addiction Counselor.
  • About a minimum of 450 contact hours of training and education in this discipline and they should have at least 6 hours of internship training in ethics and 6 hours of HIV /other pathogens training within the previous 6 years.
  • Moreover, getting a merit score on the NCC AP’s NCAC level II exam.

You can give these exams throughout the year at any time and place to any of the boards affiliated.

What Is the Format of These Exams?

Like any typical competitive exam, this exam consists of 200 multiple-choice questions to be solved in the allotted time of 3 hours.

The NCAC I and NCAC II exam will test your knowledge in four contents:

  1. Counseling practice (about 40% of the questions).
  2. Pharmacology of psychoactive substances like drugs, alcohol (about 30% of the questions).
  3. The theoretical base of counseling (15% of the questions).
  4. Professional issues related to substance use addiction treatment (15% of questions).

Both exams help in evaluating various skills such as clinical assessment, ongoing treatment, planning, counseling services documentation, case management, discharge and continuing care, legal issues, ethics and also professional growth issues in this field.

These exams may appear hard to you so if you want to get merit score in both NCAC I & NCAC II exams you can definitely come to us. For over 20 years, Addictions Exam has served counselors across the US.

They have a professional and well-experienced team of about 30 trainers who provides you more comprehensive, technical and practical training that you will love and don’t even realize how easy it could be.

They are the US leader in Addictions Exam Preparation and with their expertise, they can provide you with a relaxing yet competitive environment to prepare for the exam.

So, don’t worry and get yourself prepared for the NCAC I & NCAC II exam from the professional and experienced leaders.


One thought on “What exactly are the NCAC 1 and NCAC 2 Exam?

  1. I have tried to take the NCAC II, 2 times now and scored a 64% both times. I have studied the 4 book set from NADAAC RELIGIOUSLY…and needless to say, they are worthless. Where or what needs to be studied to pass this exam?
    Thank you for your time and have a great day!
    Arick Miller

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *